Skip to content

Introductory Remarks

June 4, 2011

Greetings, fellow e-readers! First, a little about this blog. I intend for this to be a place for me to express some thoughts and preferences regarding e-reading devices and accessories, e-books, and how the face of publishing and reading is changing. I welcome your comments and look forward to any discussions engendered by my posts.

Currently I own and regularly use three e-readers: Kobo Wifi, Kindle 3, and Nook Color. On the Nook Color, I run the stock B&N software, and I also boot Android from a microSD card with CM7. I enjoy all three of these readers, but use the Kindle and the Kobo for long reading sessions; the NC I use for shorter reading sessions and as a tablet more than as a dedicated reader. In subsequent posts I will talk about each of these readers and how I use them, but for now I’ll just say that the Kindle gets the most use, but I do use all three on a daily basis.

My goal is to post three times a week (probably on MWF), but life may not always cooperate with my intended schedule. I welcome not only comments to the posts but also any suggestions for topics. I do not anticipate this being a news blog as such, though I’m sure I’ll comment on e-reading news that interests me.

Just as background, I am a Linux user on all my computers at work and at home. I don’t use Windows or Mac, so I won’t be able to talk about them much at all. I don’t use a smartphone, just a basic cellphone, but I do like the Nook Color as an Android tablet. I’m a big fan of the Calibre program and anticipate a number of posts on specific tasks it enables me to accomplish.

Coming up in the next post: favorite covers for my e-readers; thoughts on the Kindles with Special Offers; my first e-book recommendation (a science fiction novel in the public domain); and a news blog recommendation for the Kindle.

Leave a Comment

Leave a Reply

